Presidency Declared National Disaster In Four Nigeria States

Presidency Declared National Disaster In Four Nigeria States: Kogi, Niger, Anambra and Delta States

Posted by Npower Discussion Group on Monday, September 17, 2018

This Morning the director general of NEMA conveyed a message to Nigerians on behalf of President Buhari. He said:

On behalf of the President & Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari, I Engr. Mustapha Maihaja, Director-General of National emergency Management Agency (NEMA) Nigeria, hereby declare National Disaster in the following States: Kogi, Niger, Anambra, Delta.

The Federal Government is closely monitoring the situation along the banks of the Rivers Benue and Niger. I have authorized NEMA to declare a “national disaster" if necessary. The military Disaster Response Units will be activated, for search and rescue missions.

President Buhari said he has approved 3 billion Naira for the procurement of medical and relief materials to meet the needs of victims of the flooding. NEMA is also providing me with regular updates on the situation.

Post a Comment